Friday, November 19, 2010

WTF Ad Campaign

Okay. I'm laying here, in my bed at 10:30 at night watching Food Network (one thing you'll eventually find out about me is that I HATE network TV. FN gives me ideas, although I'm getting tired of looking at them on 5 shows per host AND the commercials. Oh, and the only reason I get to do this is because the Man is visiting his mom.) and I'm PISSED at a soup commercial claiming that, by nuking a can of soup and putting it over rice is dinner. Seriously? The claim is $4, 4 minutes and dinner is served. First off, are you kidding me? Second, if it costs you four bucks for a can of soup and some minute rice, you have more money than sense.

I've had wine tonight. I may hold off on posting this until tomorrow.

I had 5 people (3 adults and 2 kids) over for dinner tonight, plus my two boys and myself. We made cheese pizza.

Here's the breakdown for 2 12-14-inch pizzas:

4ish cups of flour: $.40
yeast: $.25
Salt, water, olive oil and honey: $.50
Tomato Sauce: $.25
Cheese: $2
Basil: Free (from the garden)

I just fed 7 people for $3.40 with fresh ingredients. I admit, I'm not including wine (could I count that as a fruit?)or time and there wasn't a vegetable in sight, but which would you rather have? Pizza, fresh from the oven, or tinned soup over re-hydrated rice? Even if I'd used the Poppin' Fresh dough on sale, I'd STILL come out ahead!

Bite me. That's NOT mmm, mmm, good.

I feel better now. I'm going to bed.

No comments:

Post a Comment